Sustaining a Crime Franchise

at Edinburgh International Book Festival

Gunnar Staalesen and David Mark are both writers of long-running crime fiction series. That’s not an easy job!


Staalesen’s Varg Veum series began in 1977, and is still continuing, while Mark’s seventh DS McAvoy title was published earlier this year. Hear the two firmly established crime fiction talents offer their reasons behind such longevity.

Staalesen will also do an author reading at the Amnesty International Imprisoned Writers Series at 25 August.


The Spiegeltent




3.15 pm



£10-12. Book here.

Norwegian Art

More from Norwegian Arts